Convergence Area Map

Click to view map

KESS 2 involves all universities in Wales and is suitable for academics who wish to promote collaborative higher level research projects whilst meeting the needs of an active business or its sector.

A range of companies and organisations can participate in KESS 2, including Micro companies, SMEs, Large Companies, Third Sector and Social Enterprises if they have an operational presence in the Convergence Area of Wales.

Appointed KESS 2 students must also be resident in the Convergence Area on registration and have the right to work within the region on qualification.

The Convergence Area (highlighted in yellow) covers West Wales and the Valleys, and is made up of the following 15 local authorities:  

Isle of Anglesey; Gwynedd; Conwy; Denbighshire; Ceredigion; Pembrokeshire; Carmarthenshire; Swansea; Neath Port Talbot; Bridgend; Rhondda Cynon Taf; Merthyr Tydfil; Caerphilly; Blaenau Gwent; Torfaen.

Click here to view the Convergence Area Map (opens in a new tab)

For further information email kess2@bangor.ac.uk or get in touch with a team at your local academic institution.